Perler TARDIS tutorial

6 May

My Perler TARDIS post from a few days ago was a huge hit! I’ve gotten a few people asking for a pattern. And so, here’s my best attempt at a pattern and tutorial. I kind of made this up as I went so forgive me if it’s hard to understand.

Click for larger image

Materials

  1. Make all pieces as shown. Note when multiple pieces are needed. For example, the light blue box that says “Top x3” needs to be made 3 times. For the light at the top make sure you do the glow in the dark beads properly (see finished product below). Allow pieces to cool under something heavy to keep them flat.
  2. Using embroidery thread, stitch details onto perler pieces, being sure that they will look right when finished.
  3. Using embroidery thread, stitch the light blue “Top” pieces together with the thicker piece on top.
  4. Stitch the dark blue “Top” pieces onto the light blue pieces with the thicker piece in the middle connecting everything together.
  5. Snap the light together and slide the two prongs into the hole in the dark blue “Top” piece. Hot glue the prongs on the underside to keep it secure (either now or later). Set the whole top assembly aside.
  6. Snap the body of the TARDIS together and hot glue the joint securely from the inside.
  7. Snap base pieces (minus large square bottom) together. Turn TARDIS body upside down and hot glue the base pieces together, making sure to leave room for large square bottom.
  8. Quickly glue and place the large square bottom. I only glued along two sides as my hot glue was cooling too quickly. Do NOT attempt to melt the hot glue as you will damage your TARDIS.
  9. Turn TARDIS right side up. Snap Police Box pieces together and hot glue to the top of the body. Make sure to leave enough room that the lid (which we set aside before) will fit fairly level.
  10. Allow everything to cool and fill with anything you want–it’s bigger on the inside!!

18 Responses to “Perler TARDIS tutorial”

  1. Selemi November 23, 2012 at 8:02 PM #

    Thank you so much for this tutorial. It must have taken a lot of work and the end result is quite impressive.

  2. emily cronenberg January 21, 2013 at 4:30 PM #

    I’m makin it. How long did it take?

    • Kyoti February 1, 2013 at 8:30 PM #

      I don’t remember, but it probably took 3 or 4 days working 2 to 3 hours each day. It was a tough one! The hardest part for me was actually gluing and stitching it all together.

  3. Cody February 13, 2013 at 4:17 PM #

    See the top bit it has “top” 4 times do u do each bit *3

  4. Rae March 28, 2013 at 11:18 AM #

    Would you suggest using a cool melt glue gun instead of a hot melt?

    • Kyoti March 31, 2013 at 10:34 AM #

      I’ve never used a cool melt glue gun so I’m afraid I can’t say if it’s better or worse. Sorry!

  5. Kristina March 29, 2013 at 4:41 PM #

    I made it! Thank you for the guide. I gave it to my bf for his birthday and he loves it.

  6. Tree June 9, 2013 at 5:58 PM #

    Awesome instructions thank you so much for sharing made one for my husband and he loves it it put a big smile on his face.

  7. Chelsea August 4, 2013 at 6:30 AM #

    I’m having trouble distinguishing the glow in the dark beads in the pattern. which are they?

    • Kyoti August 4, 2013 at 8:18 PM #

      Sorry, it was hard to find a color that was close enough. For each of the 4 top pieces with glow in the dark beads the glow beads are in a 2×3 grid, so like this:
      ..
      ..
      ..
      Hopefully that makes sense!

  8. Hannah August 26, 2013 at 3:28 PM #

    Thank you so much for this pattern! My friend and I made this–took us about 7 hours from start to finish, working together on a Saturday morning (and into afternoon lol). It turned out wonderful!

    THANKS AGAIN!!

  9. Kelsey December 4, 2013 at 6:53 PM #

    will this look odd with a lighter blue for the sides?

  10. triplek3 December 11, 2013 at 8:11 PM #

    I’m slightly confused on how to do embroidery on perler beads. Could you clarify a bit more, or possibly have a tutorial I can use? Thanks! I really want to make this as a Christmas gift, and it looks really cool!

  11. Doctor July 13, 2014 at 7:51 PM #

    how long did iron the beads for?

  12. Emma July 23, 2014 at 2:18 AM #

    Thank you so much! Are you a Doctor Who fan? I have a blog about Doctor who, please can you tell about my blog on your blog? Please! if you want to do that, I can tell about your blog on my blog! http://thedoctorwhoblogforyou.tumblr.com

    Love your blog! I need more readers on my blog!

  13. Stephanie July 30, 2014 at 6:22 PM #

    Where did you buy your embroidery floss?

  14. Milissa August 22, 2014 at 6:52 AM #

    This looks so awesome! Do you remember which blue you used for the light blue beads?? I ordered light blue but they look way too light

  15. Sam August 26, 2014 at 6:32 PM #

    Thank you very much this worked awesome. I am finishing up making it. thank you very much for coming up with the design. It is the best design I have seen it all over the internet. thank you very much again

Leave a comment