Lush Slush Slushy Wine

16 May

I went to the Bernardo Winery with my sweetheart’s family for Mother’s Day on Sunday and we found a stall with a mix for wine slushies. I tried it and it tasted amazing! But…the mix they had was like $5, and it only made enough for half a bottle of wine. I told myself I could make it myself so easily, and I was right! It took maybe 5 minutes of work and I ended up with a really tasty, sweet, slightly gelled and slightly icey drink.

Ingredients
  • 2 cups wine (I used strawberry white Zinfandel)
  • 1 tbsp strawberry kiwi (or any other flavor) Jell-o mix
  • 1.5 tbsp sugar
  1. In a bowl, stir the gelatin in 1/4 cup wine until dissolved.
  2. In a small saucepan, allow rest of the wine to simmer, stir in the softened gelatin and sugar until dissolved and allow to cool. Transfer to a tight-sealing container.
  3. Freeze the mixture for about 3 hours, stirring occasionally.
  4. Stir thoroughly before serving.
 My honey and I both thought it was tasty! We’re not big alcohol drinkers but this was great. I could have drank the whole two cups’ worth on my own probably but I stuck with just half of it, so scale this recipe to suit your needs.
I just hope my sweetheart’s mom likes it as much as I do! :-)

Leave a Reply

