Raspberry Mocha Recipe

21 Apr

Have you tried Peet’s raspberry mocha? I’ve been there a few times on road trips and I just fell in love with them! Sadly, the nearest Peet’s is hours away and I can’t justify driving that far just for coffee, so I decided to try to make some at home!

It's hard to make stuff look good just after waking up

Ok, so not as pretty as Peet’s but come on, I was trying to get this thing finished so I could drink it ;-) You wouldn’t like me before my morning coffee!

My mom (the genius she is–I got my brains from her!) actually first had the idea to make raspberry mochas at home. She got some sugar free raspberry coffee syrup and let me try it in my coffee. It was wonderful! I prefer the non-sugar free stuff though but hey, if Mom gives me coffee syrup I’m not gonna turn it down :-) The Torani syrups were a little outside my price range and I wanted something with a little more flexibility. Just a few days later I was shopping at Big Lots and found Daily’s brand raspberry daiquiri mix for $2.80! If you can find raspberry syrup made with real raspberries I’d suggest getting that but the daiquiri mix is delicious and is only lightly sweetened.

I’m sure I could use good chocolate for this but I just wouldn’t have much use for it other than for making mochas so I prefer the instant hot cocoa mixes. What’s great about this recipe is that it’s super simple, though to be honest I took pictures this morning before I’d had any coffee (hey, the mocha was gonna be my coffee!) and I very nearly forgot the cocoa mix…oops! What’s a raspberry mocha without the mocha?! That’s what I get for trying to think before my morning coffee ;-) Enough rambling, on to the recipe, shall we?

Ingredients

  • 14 oz fresh medium to strong brewed coffee
  • 1 tbsp raspberry syrup (adjust accordingly based on your syrup and personal tastes)
  • 1/2 packet instant hot cocoa
  • 1/2 tbsp sugar (adjust to taste)
  • 1 tbsp creamer (optional, adjust to taste, my preference is International Delight in French Vanilla or Cold Stone’s Sweet Cream)
  • dollop whipped cream (optional)
  • a bit of extra syrup and cocoa powder to garnish

This is another of those super simple recipes: mix everything but the whipped cream and garnish together, put it into a nice tall mug, and add the whipped cream and garnish. Sit back and enjoy your little piece of chocolate and raspberry heaven :-)

Oops...whipped cream started to melt. Still yummy!

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to finish enjoying this.

Leave a Reply

