Berry Oat Muffins

4 Apr

How in the world did I get so many frozen berries? I’ve had almost 2 pounds of frozen berries in my freezer for the better part of a year. Thankfully they don’t go bad but I had no idea what to use them to make. I had blackberries, strawberries, raspberries, and a berry mix. I made some popsicles (strawberry banana and strawberries and “cream”) which those of you who follow my Twitter may have seen. I also made strawberry lemonade! But I still had about a pound of berries left and I was getting sick of popsicles.

I also happen to have a ton of quick oats from when I used to have oatmeal every morning. So I decided to get rid of some of the berries and some of the oats and make muffins! The end result was delicious, moist, had a great texture from the berries, and tasted healthy–in the best possible way. I didn’t feel guilty at all eating two of these when they were supposed to be cooling.

Because of the blackberries the batter turned a bit dark–they’re not burnt, I promise! First, let’s see these beauties, then we’ll get to the recipe.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup quick oats
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1/2 cup vanilla soy milk (can be replaced with cow’s milk)
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1 cup (up to 2) of frozen berries, thawed and mushed/chopped up (I used equal portions strawberries, raspberries, and blackberries)

Directions

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Line 12 muffin cups with baking cups. You could grease them but I found muffin cups worked best as these muffins can be delicate to remove.

In a large bowl, mix flour, oats, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon and salt. In a separate bowl, whisk together egg, soy milk, oil and sugars. Mix in berries (and any berry juice that may have come out in thawing). Stir berry mixture into oat mixture until evenly moist–make sure it’s evenly moist or you’ll get bit chunks of flour in your finished muffins. Spoon into prepared muffin cups.

Bake 18 to 20 minutes in the preheated oven, until a knife inserted in the center of a muffin comes out clean. Let sit for 10 minutes. Or maybe just 5. Or maybe just long enough to grab a glass of milk ;-)

These would be amazing with strawberry or apple butter or perhaps a bit of honey but they taste fantastic just as they are.

Makes 12 muffins

Leave a Reply

