Small Pumpkin Cross Stitch Pattern

4 Oct

Ah, October! I love autumn themes (especially Halloween)! I recently started a reddit community for crafting, /r/craftit. So far it’s been a total hit! Just a day or two after I started it, someone suggested we do a secret santa-style craft swap where everyone makes something for a person but no one knows who’s sending something to them (which is why it’s safe for me to post this!). I had never participated in a craft swap before, let alone organized one, but it just sounded like so much fun (and the community was interested) that I couldn’t say no!

Our theme for this swap is autumn and my partner likes pumpkins. I found the perfect little pattern that I could make an autumn ornament out of that I was hoping wouldn’t take too long. It ended up taking much longer than expected but the person I made it for definitely deserves the extra effort put into it! I’ll be making two more items for them as well, I’ll blog about those when they’re done. For now, here’s my completed project, mounting tutorial and pattern below.

Autumn pumpkin

I stitched my pumpkin on 14 count Light Oatmeal colored Aida and it ended up being about 2.5″ square when mounted. To mount, I cut out two pieces of cork board and followed this method to secure the stitching in place around the first piece of cork. I then took my second piece of cork and glued it to the back, gluing a short loop of black ribbon in place at the same time so that it can be hung. Over all, I’m really happy with how it turned out and I think (I hope!!) my partner will love it!

The pattern is from the Just Cross Stitch magazine, October ’08 volume. Now, I’m only posting this because I know all of you have subscriptions to Just Cross Stitch and don’t want to bother finding the right issue, I would hate to give this pattern away for free if the person doesn’t have a subscription… ;-)

Click for hi-res version

Enjoy!

3 Responses to “Small Pumpkin Cross Stitch Pattern”

  1. Auston October 6, 2010 at 1:09 PM #

    i know you don’t remember me, but I’m glad to see how well you’re doing. :)

    • kyotijess October 6, 2010 at 1:21 PM #

      Oh shut up, of course I remember you, silly! I’m doing really good :-) How have you been??

      • Auston October 9, 2010 at 6:56 AM #

        I’m in the navy, doing pretty good in it, too. Mom was in a motorcycle accident last weekend, came down to texas for the services. I’ve been very lonely.

Leave a Reply

