Baby Stuff! Part 2

12 Jul

I made a crinkly square! It’s going to be for Caden again, not surprisingly. I can already tell that I’m going to spoil this kid whenever I get the chance :-) I got the idea from this tutorial, but I modified it enough that I made my own tutorial.

Here’s the finished product. It was my first time ever doing anything where stuff has to line up, so please forgive me!

Side 1

Side 2

Before I start, things I learned with this project:

  • You’re supposed to cut the outside squares BIGGER than the inside one to account for the seams
  • Working with crinkly stuff is difficult. In the future I’m going to sew the square with fabric only, then fold up the crinkly and put it inside before I stitch the whole thing closed

You will need:

  • Sewing machine
  • Thread
  • Scissors
  • Pins
  • 3 kinds of fabric
  • Fabric marker (optional)
  • Crinkly stuff! I used a compostable Sun Chips bag, it was very noisy, but you could use anything from plastic grocery bags to a baby wipe bag

Let’s begin!

First, lay out the design you want and cut your squares accordingly. Remember to add seam allowances to all of the edge squares, with the corners getting extra seam allowances on 2 of the sides and the side squares only getting extra allowances on 1 side. I didn’t realize this mistake until I was already done, but you can learn from my mistake!

At this time you should also cut out your crinkly stuff. I didn’t want the front of the bag showing through the thin white fabric, so I made it the right width but twice as long and just folded it over with the silver side out; this also gave it a nice shiny effect when I was done. Remember your seam allowances when you cut out the bag, don’t make it too big or you will have to re-cut it.

Cut out your squares and pin them in sets of three into the pattern you want

Sew along where you had pinned so that you have three strips. Try to get all of the squares as close to even as possible so that they line up nicely

Sew your three strips together to form a square. Repeat with the other side of the square.

If you do it my way (which I don't suggest, I tore the crinkly stuff a bit turning it right-side out) then you can sew the crinkly directly to the square when you sew the two pieces together. Remember to put the shiny side on the correct side. Leave a small opening on one side so that you can turn it.

Turn right-side out and press out the corners with a chopstick or similar item. This is when I SHOULD have put the crinkly stuff in; if I ever do this again, I'll just fold up the crinkly stuff and put it inside using the turning hole. Stitch all the way around the outside and you're done!

Leave a Reply

