Cherry Print Apron! With tutorial, and more pictures than are really necessary!

18 Nov

So, I’ve been wanting an apron for when I’m cooking so I don’t get my clothes all messy, and so all that bacon grease doesn’t splatter right on me :-/ And thus, the idea for my cherry print apron was born!

The end result!

Ta-da!

I made the pattern entirely from scratch, so I’m sorry I don’t have actual patterns you can print to use. I just took some postal wrapping paper (I got a whole roll at my local 99 Cents Only store), folded it in half, cut the top and bottom parts, then unfolded and looked at what I had and it turned out nicely. Next, I got about one yard of the cherry print fabric and 6 inches of the red fabric for the straps and pocket (because it was 108″ long, I only needed a thin piece). Well, let’s get started, and please forgive me for having a couple blurry pictures tossed in.

You will need:

  • Sewing machine
  • LOTS of appropriately colored thread (mine is red; I had to buy more twice, so get more than you think you need)
  • Two complementing colors/patterned pieces of fabric. About 1 square yard was used for the cherry print on mine, and 108″ by 6″
  • Enough lace to go around the bottom of your apron and any pockets (I used about 1 yard)
  • Tailor’s measuring tape
  • Rotary cutter
  • Scissors
  • Pins
  • Pattern for top and bottom of apron
  • Cutting mat (optional, but very useful)
  • Long ruler (for cutting straight with the rotary cutter)
  • Iron and ironing board
  • 1 to 2 long zip ties (to keep the top of the apron from slipping down and pooching, optional)
  • Wire cutters or strong scissors and a lighter (for zip ties, not pictured)
  • Loop turner (not pictured)

Getting Started

The materials

The materials

First, cut off the big ends of the zip ties and carefully melt them with the lighter so they're smooth

Next, lay your main fabric down with two layers on top of one another, put your pattern over it, and carefully cut around your pattern using the rotary cutters. You could use a tailor's pencil to mark on the fabric itself, but I found this easiest.

And you're left with this

Repeat with the top of the apron (I cut it 13" x 12" rectangular), cut the neckband to 4" x 23", the apron ties to 4" x 80" (or more), and cut out however many pockets you want, one piece of each type of fabric for each pocket.

I also cut out a few extra cherries to add as embellishments. Make sure you leave enough room around the pattern to sew to your fabric

The embellishments

Take whatever type of fabric is going to be the outside of the pocket and carefully sew the embellishment onto it. I didn't even use the foot pedal for these, just cranked it by hand.

I just like this picture :-) Keep going until you meet back to your original point.

Once you've gone all the way around your embellishment, flip the fabric over and pull all threads onto the back side and tie securely (but not tight enough to warp the fabric) and snip off the tail

Add more embellishment if you want, just make sure it's at least an inch or so from the edge so there's plenty of room to sew the pocket together

Another picture I like. Do the same on the neckband if you want, just make sure it's off to one side so it'll show up when it's put together.

And here are the embellished neckband and pocket! Again, remember to keep your embellishments about an inch or so from the edge, and make sure there's enough room at the bottom of the neckband to sew to the front of the apron

The skirt

You know what's awesome? My lace has cherries on it <3

Take your two pieces of fabric and put the patterns against each other, so that when you turn it right side out the pattern will be outside. Then take the lace and place it between the two pieces. Make sure you put it all together properly or you'll have a lot of seam ripping to do. I do not pin the lace because I've found the fabric moves and bunches up, so I just hold the fabric in place and check on it every so often.

Making sure your fabric and lace stay lined up, sew the lace in place, adjusting the lace as necessary so you get it as even as possible. Make sure you backstitch a bit to secure the thread

See how I'm going kind of freehand? Just be careful not to miss the lace or it will look weird and you'll have to go back over it (like I did with the pocket)

When I was done, the fabric had shifted slightly so I had to trim this bit. Just put down your ruler and cut it off using the rotary cutter and it's easy

Now turn the skirt portion right side out and go around the edge to make it less odd and poofy. I almost always use the side of my sewing foot as a guide so I have an even edge

Another of those pictures that I just like and add because I can

The pockets

Do your pockets the same way you did the skirt, only now we're going to sew along the top as well. Sew all the way around the bottom, then carefully push the lace out of the way before sewing along the top but leaving about an inch at one end

Once it looks something like this, carefully use the lace to help you turn it right side out, then press out the edges with a chopstick or something so they're nice and smooth.

Once it's right side out, tuck the extra in so that you can sew across the top and keep it in place

And there's the pocket! Pin it in place and sew it onto the skirt part. I tried to use as few pins as possible because the fabric showed the holes, but it will depend on what you use

And now they're connected. I kinda wobbled when sewing mine, but you can only really see it if you're up close. About this time I decided I only wanted one pocket, but if you want more you can just repeat this with however many pockets you want

The top

Take the long pieces and sew up both sides (the 13-inch sides, for me). Do not sew the top or the bottom (yet)

Time to do the neckband. Fold the neckband so the embellishment (if any) is on the inside, and hold the edges together. Sew all the way down, adjusting as necessary to keep it even. You could pin this one if you want, but I find it easier to freehand it

Once you have a tube, take the loop turner and scrunch your tube onto it. I made sure to start putting it in on the side that had the embellishment, so the loop turner had no chance of damaging it

Poke the loop turner through and start gently and carefully turning the tube right side out. The loop turner slipped off the first couple times I did it, but around the third try I got it right

And there you are. Yes, the embellishment is off-center, but I didn't want it centered anyways. Next, carefully iron your neckband so it's flat and then stitch along the sides, using the foot as a guide (no pictures for that step, sorry!). I made sure to only iron on the back of the fabric, just in case my iron was too hot for the fabric.

Do the same thing as above for the apron strings, but for the ends just fold them back and sew them in place. You can tuck them in and sew if you want, but this is fine for me

Align the strap along the sides and sew straight across, making sure to double back over where the straps are for added support. Make sure you check your placement just to make sure before you start sewing

Take your two (modified) zip ties and place them between the two sheets of fabric. Make sure your apron is right side out at this point

Push them all the way up against the top, and carefully sew them inside

Stitch all the way across, being careful to keep the zip ties out of the way. I also sewed down the sides to keep it from getting poofy, just like the skirt

Endgame!

Now we take the bottom...

...and we take the top...

Fold everything in half and pin right in the center where everything will meet so it lines up nicely (no picture for that, sorry). Then pin the top and bottom to the apron strings, and sew straight across. Secure your knots on the back of the fabric and you're done!

Ta-da!

5 Responses to “Cherry Print Apron! With tutorial, and more pictures than are really necessary!”

  1. Jacob November 23, 2009 at 6:31 PM #

    I like whats under that apron–*SLAPPED* I’m sorry.
    Looks like a lot of work, but well worth it, because the final product looks awesome.

    • kyotijess November 23, 2009 at 7:31 PM #

      Oh, you! I would expect nothing less, though ;-P

      • Jacob November 26, 2009 at 2:24 AM #

        I will take that as a compliment of sorts.

  2. Ken December 8, 2009 at 4:59 PM #

    I love the apron, What’s the story with the circuit on the dry erase board?

    • kyotijess December 8, 2009 at 6:00 PM #

      That would be the board my boyfriend uses to explain things to me, like electronics and programming (we love diagrams!). In this case, he was explaining constant current sink, which he felt the need to explain again, in its entirety, when I asked him what the circuit had been for…in excruciating detail.

Leave a Reply

